Kana’s Diary Entry # 4

This time I will tell you about how we raised the 10,000 dollars we needed. This was a bit difficult at first, but we soon got the hang of it and it became sort of like our muscle memory. The only thing that surprised me was that Dr.Latinese was also helping us. We thankfully raised 20,000, so Dr.Latinese got some profit for his ransom note. Let me tell you, Dr.Latinese is much nicer than his name sounds.
Me: We have to raise 10,000 dollars!!
Muggy: A lemonade stand?
Everyone burst out laughing, but not me. I thought about it. Lemonade… hmm…
Me: It’s a good idea, but we don’t know how to make it.
CNC: Yeah, that’s the reason.
She snickered, but seemed not to notice that everyone else had stopped laughing and was gazing at CNC in a paranoid way.
Me: How about a bake sale? And talent show at the same time, while having a a lemonade stand too!!
Sandy: Great idea!!
Muggy: In charge of the Lemonade!
Gates: I would like to organize some music. I love playing music.
Princess: I’ll Bake!
CNC sighed and looked at her black fingernails, and she slightly glanced up at me.
Me: Talent show biz is for me!
We all burst out laughing.
Pa: I will help Gates, here. The group for the old!
Gates cringed at being called “old” but he smiled instead and peered up at Pa.
Me: Let’s sta-
But when I started to talk, a young doctor ran over to us. He had warm brown eyes and a sweet smile. His shaggy hair was a deep black and his young skin was pale. He had huge muscles bulging through his doctor’s jacket. He had a small pair of glasses, and a dog in his hand. The dog was a fashionable poodle with a pink shiny bow clipped up to her.
Poodle: Ahah, Well, hello Boxer baby. I am Stella. And You might be?
I ignored the poodle’s snotty attitude and turned to the doctor.
Doctor: You are the dogs on the news? I was on the news, too. I am Dr. Latinese. Ever since my pug disappeared, I have bought myself a beautiful female poodle, Stella. She is a star to my core. He poofy hair is my wife’s favorite feauture of her!
CNC: You’re not here to brag. You’re here to help.
My heart stopped beating. Dr. Latinese wasn’t supposed to brag, but he seemed willing to help.
Me: Excuse Cookies ‘n Cream. You are welcome to join. You are pretty popular so you will spread the invites. We will split the profits, okay?
Dr. Latinese: A boxer. Cute. And yes, I will spread the invites.
It was a busy week. I was organized the talent show and asking the people Dr. Latinese asked to compete. Fifty percent said yes, twenty five said no, and the other twenty five said they were still thinking about it. Muggy was making lemonade searching DogTube how to make it. Princess was riffling through cookbooks, making delicious desserts, and fretting when she made a mistake. Gates was searching music files, and getting people to pay for a CD and getting people to listen. Sandy was helping out everyone, just like Pa. But CNC was doing nothing. At least when the day for the talent show came, we had 7,998 dollars. It was for the food and lemonade. But we still had a bigger crowd to attract at the talent show. The tickets were ten dollars each. I don’t know how much Dr. Latinese sold, but I could tell a LOT of people came.
Me: You have music, cookies and lemonade to buy while the intermission or during the show. Turn off all cellphones and get ready for the SHOW!
The show went smoothly. There were a lot of acts and laughs. The audience seemed to love it. This task wasn’t that hard and Dr. Latinese seemed to think the same, too.
After everyone left, we had a small meeting.
Me: How much money was earned?
Gates: Hoping a lot!
Princess: The bake sale money was 1,500 something.
Muggy: Lemonade was 2,500 something.
Princess glared at Muggy, as if it was a contest who earned more money.
Gates: Music was 1,002 exactly.
Dr. Latinese: The show money was 7,000. 700 seats were sold.
I quickly calculated the profit. My jaw dropped.
Me: 20,000!!
Dr. latinese nodded.
Dr. Latinese: Looks like we both completed this one.

Comments are closed.